Jewish Holidays

Our community celebrates the holidays in a secular manner emphasizing Jewish history and culture. Ceremonies reflect humanistic values and the belief that we are responsible for determining our own destiny. Our interactive services are in English and we sing songs in English, Hebrew and Yiddish. Holiday readings encourage reflection and meditation. And of course we eat!

Join us to experience truly meaningful holiday traditions!

NEW JSC GUEST POLICY: Guests are welcome to attend our programs! Due to the increased costs of providing a catered Shabbat dinner, guests who have not attended in the past, are welcome to join us for two complimentary events. After that, the fee is $35 per event. Checks should be made payable to Jewish Secular Community. These fees may be credited towards an annual JSC membership. Interested in becoming a member? Learn more and sign up here.

Check out our Shabbat Programs page for information about Shabbat only events.

Calendar for 2022-2023

IMPORTANT UPDATE:

Due to the outbreak of the COVID-19, we need to adjust the format of our indoor observances. We have made the following adjustments to provide a socializing event in a safe and meaningful way.

– We will meet in person. Only fully vaccinated people may attend- honesty is assumed.

As local conditions evolve, we may make further changes. Please watch frequently for announcements in our newsletter, website and Facebook page.

Thank you for your understanding and patience while we safely work through COVID.

– All Shabbat programs will be held at the Unitarian Universalist Church (21600 Shaker Blvd., Shaker Hts., Ohio 44122)

– Rosh Hashanah and Passover will be held at the Solon Recreation Center (35000 Portz Parkway, Solon, Ohio 44139)

– Yom Kippur will be held at the Shaker Nature Center (2600 South Park Blvd, Cleveland, Ohio 44120).

– Sukkot will be held at Katydid Lodge, Frohring Meadows (16780 Savage Rd., Chagrin Falls, OH 44023).

Shabbat- Friday Sept. 16, 2022 6:30 pm

Rosh Hashanah- Monday Sept. 26, 2022 10:00 am

Yom Kippur- Tuesday Oct. 4, 2022 7:00 pm

Break Fast- Wednesday Oct. 5, 2022 4:00 pm

Shabbat- Friday Oct. 14, 2022 6:30 pm

Sukkot- Sunday Oct. 9, 2022 11:00 am

Shabbat- Friday Nov. 11, 2022 6:30 pm

Shabbat/Chanukah- Friday Dec. 23, 2022 6:30 pm

Shabbat- Friday Jan. 13, 2023 6:30 pm

Shabbat/Tu Bishvat- Friday Feb. 3, 2023 6:30 pm

Shabbat/Purim- Friday March 3, 2023 6:30 pm

Passover- Monday April 10, 2021 5:30 pm

Shabbat- Friday April 21, 2023 6:30 pm

Shabbat- Friday May 19, 2023 6:30 pm

Get Our Newsletter!

Reach Out. Learn More About Us.

Contact Us Sidebar
Sending